#### **Programme**

5.30 pm	Registration begins
6.00 pm	Official welcome and introduction
6.10 pm	Student Presentations
7.40 pm	Guest Speaker: Dr René Rozendal
8.00 pm	Presentation of Awards
	A light supper and drinks will be provided

8.50 pm

We would like to thank the following organisations for their sponsorship of this evening:

Conclusion of the evening

### **Gold Sponsors**

Aecom CS Energy Ergon Energy

# **Silver Sponsors**

Kellogg Brown & Root Logan Waste Service

## **Bronze Sponsors**

Aurecon GHD

University of Queensland – Chemical Engineering University of Queensland – Civil Engineering

#### **Speakers**

This evening showcases thesis projects being undertaken by Queensland undergraduate students studying environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering:

## Kaitlin Richards - University of Queensland

Treatment evaluation and optimisation of Rocks Riverside Park Sewer Mining Facility

# Jonathan Ham - James Cook University

Evaluating corrosion in drinking distribution networks through modeling

## Julia Mueller - Ohio State University

Processing and recovery of cathode ray tube glass

## Melissa Williams - University of Queensland

A comparative analysis of cleaner production perspectives and implementation in Australia and Vietnam and implications for cross-border knowledge exchange

#### Brendan Brown - James Cook University

Application of forward osmosis to concentrate sugar solutions

## Julia Cheong - Queensland University of Technology

Preliminary development of a sewerage infrastructure buffer assessment tool for Environmental Engineering Risk & Strategic Land Use Planning

#### **Gleb Kolenbet – Griffith University**

Development of a trade waste and sewage loading and costing model

# Dr René Rozendal - Australian Water Management Centre

Resource Recovery:

A Paradigm Shift In Industrial Wastewater Treatment

# **Sponsors**

**GOLD** 







**SILVER** 





**BRONZE** 







We would like to acknowledge the efforts of the committee in organising the awards:

# **University of Queensland Environmental Engineering Staff & Students**

Dr Kate O'Brien – School of Chemical Engineering
Ms Annabelle Hassall
Mr Marc Kuliszer
Mr Benjamin Brooks
Ms Maddalena Gabrielli

#### **Association Representatives**

Dr David Moy – Waste Management Association of Australia Ms Lara Harland – Society for Sustainability and Environmental Engineering Ms Sandy Stewart – Society for Sustainability and Environmental Engineering





# The 11<sup>th</sup> Annual Environmental Student Awards Evening

26 October 2010



THE UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND ST LUCIA CAMPUS