What's In The Pipeline For Renewable Energy?

Tue, 2018-07-24 11:33 -- 3031179
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 18:00 to 20:00
Graham Davies, Professor Frank Bruno, Betina Bendall, Dr. Neil Smith
Engineers Australia South Australia - Level 11, 108 King William Street Adelaide SA 5000
Event Details: 

Hear from a panel of experts in the fields of Solar thermal, Geothermal and Hydrogen technologies. Includes networking time and refreshments.




Graham Davies, Managing Director Resonant Solutions Pty Ltd

Graham is a Chartered Engineer with global experience in design, analysis, operations and project management in the energy (including solar PV, solar thermal, wind, wave, micro-grids and efficiency), manufacturing and infrastructure industries. He has had senior leadership roles in the corporate sector as well as board positions in NFPs and small businesses including his own clean energy consultancy. He has a keen focus on innovation and has three commercialised patents.

Graham has run all aspects of projects from early concept and feasibility through construction to commissioning; as Engineering Manager/Project Director for projects over $100m. Graham is past Chair of the Sustainable Engineering Society and Engineering Practice and Advisory Committee and ESCOSA committee. He has published and presented on issues of sustainability, energy, technology and economics.

Professor Frank Bruno, UniSA, SA Chair in Energy, Future Industries Institute

Professor Bruno has been involved in research, consultancy and teaching in the areas of thermal storage, low energy buildings, air conditioning, refrigeration and solar thermal for over 25 years at the University of South Australia. His current research focus in the thermal storage area is on the use of phase change material (PCM) for energy storage for applications in refrigeration and concentrating solar power. He has secured funding from the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) to establish a state-of-the-art high temperature thermal storage testing facility and from the Australian Solar Thermal Research Initiative (ASTRI) to develop reliable low-cost phase change material thermal storage for solar power plants.

Professor Bruno has played a leading role in the development of patented technology leading to inexpensive thermal storage, and led research on novel approaches to designing and optimising PCM storage systems, which won the 2012 Australian Institute for Refrigeration, Air conditioning and Heating Award for Excellence in HVAC and Refrigeration Research. He has worked jointly with Glaciem to commercialise his PCM research for refrigeration. A scaled-up demonstration plant has been constructed and is in full commercial operation with PCM under licence from UniSA.

Over his career Professor Bruno has secured over $22M of research funding from national and other competitive grants, government and industry. He has authored or co-authored over 140 refereed journal and conference papers, 100 Engineering Technical reports, 1 Book and several Book Chapters. He was recently awarded the 2016 Sir George Julius Medal for his paper which demonstrated how phase change materials can be used to reduce energy for cooling buildings. His Scopus citation data gives an H-index of 24, citations over 1,400 and citation rate currently tracking at over 350 per year. He has presented at conferences and workshops nationally and internationally and has supervised 12 PhD completions. Professor Bruno has also worked widely with industries and led various research programmes.

Betina Bendall, Principal Geoscientist, Energy Resources Division, Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Betina Bendall completed her BSc (Hons) and PhD in Geology at the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of Adelaide. Following graduation, she worked in the petroleum industry in the United Arab Emirates and completed a Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management at Charles Sturt University, NSW.

On return to Australia, Betina joined Petratherm Ltd as Senior Geologist responsible for planning and implementing geothermal exploration projects, including managing drilling and geophysical exploration activities, OH&S and compliance at Petratherm’s Paralana site and overseas geothermal licences. She currently holds the position of Principal Geoscientist in the Energy Resources Division in the Department for Energy and Mining which involves: liaising with and assisting the geothermal industry on regulatory compliance, data and land access, and technical issues; promoting the development of geothermal energy within South Australia; and facilitating targeted research into geothermal energy. She also serves as Vice Chair and Australia’s Alternate Representative to the International Energy Agency Geothermal Implementing Agreement, and is a Director of the Australian Geothermal Association.


Dr. Neil Smith, Part-time Senior Research Fellow, School of Chemical Engineering, University of Adelaide

Dr Smith's recent work for the Energy Pipelines Cooperative Research Centre has focused on assessing technology developments, costs, and gaps in knowledge related to design operation and safety of infrastructure for potential new energy fluids. He is currently also assessing flame visibility of H2/natural gas blends flame visibility. In addition, Dr Smith has a part-time role with FCT Combustion.




Registrant Type Cost ex-GST Cost inc-GST
EA, IChemE, RACI, SENG Members $9.09 $10.00
Non-Members $36.36 $40.00


Register via the EA Event Page.