Eric Brier Memorial Fund

Mon, 2011-11-14 23:33 -- adminssee

This Queensland Division Award is supported by the Qld Branch committee of SENG.

Eric Brier was a consulting engineer with Cardno & Davies for 31 years, half of which were as a Partner. From 1978, Eric Brier practiced as an independent consultant and for seven years was a specialist consultant for the Asian Development Bank. Eric Brier was active in engineering and community affairs and in 1983 was Queensland Division Chairman of Engineers Australia.

The Eric Brier Memorial Fund is a legacy bequeathed to the Queensland Division of Engineers Australia to be awarded annually to a member of Engineers Australia, who has made a significant contribution to advancing the public status of the profession of engineering, particularly in the field of sustainable development.

Award Guidelines

  1. Nominees must be members of Engineers Australia.
  2. Nominations including a statement outlining achievements are limited to 500 words. Nominations should include as attachments a CV for the nominee and their Engineers Australia membership details.
  3. Judging criteria will include the economic, social and environmental aspects of sustainable development.
  4. There is no entry fee.

Nominations can be made through EA on the Division Awards page

Click here to locate Terms and Conditions or to submit a nomination.


Mike Marley
- Principal, Golder Associates

Not awarded

Mr David Hood
 -  David A Hood & Associates, Adjunct Professor at QUT, 2012 National President of Engineers Australia

2011 and 2012
Not awarded

Mr Bill Capati - Manager of Infrastructure Planning, Gold Coast Water.

Mr Steve Posselt - Author (Cry me a River), adventurer, wetland advocate and lifelong water engineer.

Mr Don Fry AO - Adjunct Professor, University of Queensland School of Engineering and Governor, Sydney University’s Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering.

Professor Elizabeth Taylor
- Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, Engineering and Health Central Queensland University.

Mr Dale Gilbert -
Director, Built Environment Research Unit Building Division, Department of Public Works & Housing.

Mr Keith Callaghan - Manager Transmission Environment, Powerlink, Queensland.

For more information on the Queensland Engineering Excellence Awards and Engineers Australia Queensland Division individual awards, go the the Qld Division awards page