2013 QLD Student Award

Fri, 2013-11-15 16:08 -- adminssee

The 14th Annual Queensland Environmental Student Award Night was hosted by the Griffith University and held at the EcoCentre on 22 October 2013. (Download the flyer)

The evening showcased thesis projects being undertaken by Queensland undergraduate students studying environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering at Qld universities as follows:

Cameron Hill - Griffith University

  • Water treatment residuals as a media amendment in constructed wetlands for further phosphorus removal of effluent

Xue (Sherry) Yan - Griffith University

  • Sustainable Management of Liquid Waste Produced from a Solar Thermal Oil Purification Plant

Leon Ross - University of Queensland

  • Development and Evaluation of a Hydraulic Flow Model for Flooding and Draining Flow in a Bed of Shredded Municipal Solid Waste

Marguerite Donaldson - University of Queensland

  • Impact of Extended Periods of Soil Exposure on Erosion and Sediment Controls in Linear Construction

Allister Gaffney - University of Southern Queensland

  • Water Sensitive Urban Design for the Spring Creek catchment and MUSIC sensitivity analysis

Angela Gajda - Queensland University of Technology

  • Environmental Management of Sewage Pumping Stations

Congratulations to the winning students:

First prize:       Allister Gaffney (USQ)

Runner up:     Marguerite Donaldson (UQ)

SENG and WMAA would like to thank our generous sponsors of the evening. These were:

Host university:

Gold sponsors:

Bronze sponsor:

Our thanks also go to Griffith University and to 3rd year Environmental Engineering student Grace Mullins, who put an enormous effort in to organise the event and did a great job MC'ing the evening (pictured below with Dr Sunil Herat, Senior Lecturer, Griffith School of Engineering).

We would also like to thank Dr David Moy of WMAA, for his unstinting support and coordination of the judging.