2015 QLD Student Award

Fri, 2015-10-30 11:32 -- adminssee


The 16th Annual Queensland Environmental Student Award Night was hosted by the Queensland University of Technology and held at the Science and Engineering Centre (also known as The Cube) at QUT's Garden Point campus on 28 October 2015.

(Download the flyer)

The evening showcased thesis projects being undertaken by Queensland undergraduate students studying environmental science, environmental management and environmental engineering at Qld universities as follows:

Timothy Ketterer - Queensland University of Technology

  • Application of GPS-Lagrangian Drifters to Shallow Water Fluid Dynamics 

 Jacob Thorne - Griffith University

  • Thermophilic Anaerobic Digestion of Sugarcane Bagasse

Sam Watson - Griffith University

  • EvaluatIion of photocatalytic activities of SiC for water purification 

Geraldine Terada-Bellis - University of Queensland

  • Sediment and Water Budget for Lakes Somerset and Wivenhoe for the 2011 Flood in SEQld 

Connie Coverdale - University of Southern Queensland

  • Soil Nitrogen Supply Rates during a Cotton Season  

Jamie McIntyre - University of Southern Queensland

  • Monitoring and Removal of Natural Organic Matter from Toowoomba Water Sources


Congratulations to the winning students who tied for first place:

Ms Connie Coverdale (USQ)  and  Ms Jamie McIntyre (USQ)


The success of this event relies on the support of the engineering industry, both through participation and financial support.  Funds are used to subsidise transportation costs for regional students, and to provide a small cash prize to winning students.  Venue and catering costs were provided through the kind support of the host University.

SENG and WMAA would like to thank our generous sponsors of the evening. These were:

Host university and Gold sponsor:

Gold sponsor:

Logan Waste Services

Silver sponsor:

 JJ Richards


Our thanks go to Professor Les Dawes, from the School for Earth, Environmental and Biological Sciences within the Science and Engineering Faculty of QUT who put an enormous effort in to organise the event. 

We would also like to thank Queensland University of Technology 3rd year Engineering students who assisted with the event organisation - Elliott Martin, Fergus Mactaggart and Dan Winter. Elliott and Fergus did a great job MC'ing the evening.

Thank you to Dr David Moy of WMAA for his continued support, and to the esteemed judges on the evening: Dr Andrew King (SENG), Richard Oakley (Logan Waste Services and WMAA) and Sandy Stewart (SENG).